The LUCA executive is responsible for the daily running of the organisation.

At the first council meeting, the LUCA executive was elected. Your executive members are:

2015-08-06 11.35.55James Findon

James is the founder of the London Colleges Athletics Series (LCAS) and co-founder of LUCA. He is also the senior athletics captain and coach at King’s College London AXC and President of the University of London AXC. As a sprinter, his preferred event was the 200m but he decided to give up competitive athletics to focus on coaching and leading LUCA. He is passionate about developing our sport at universities to increase participation and performance. He is currently studying for a PhD at King’s in pharmacological neuroimaging. 


Armelle Folkes
Vice president

Armelle has a strong passion for athletics. She has represented Surrey several times and is also a member of Herne Hill Harriers (which she has represented at both county and national level) in addition to the King’s College Athletics club. Although she is considered more as a 1500m specialist , her preferred ideal event is 400mh. Even though her ambition to complete at elite level has been thwarted by a number of serious injuries over the last few years, she remains highly focused and determined to regain full fitness and hopefully one day represent GB.



Shivam Patel

Shivam is a medical student and student athlete, part of both the Imperial College Cross Country and Athletics Club, and also the Imperial Medicals Athletics Team. Typically a short-distance sprinter, Shivam has been known to stray into the occasional 3K race as well as shot-put and high jump. In his spare time he is involved in student outreach, hiking and helping run the Imperial College and Medicals Athletics teams.


Holly Edmond

Holly is a graduate law student and long distance runner. Having run in numerous cross-country events growing up, she now runs longer distances, particularly 10km and half-marathon, with her first full marathon imminent. Outside of running, she enjoys cycling, cooking, and taking part in various pro bono activities.

Former committee members

2015 Constitutional Working Committee:

Jacob Hood

Jonny Laybourn

James Findon


Jacob Hood, James Findon, Jonny Laybourn
Jacob Hood, James Findon, Jonny Laybourn